Adrian and Irene take the Dick and Zena Smith Trophies


Roy Gunnett reports:

The previous distance of 20K for the R. Smith Trophy has now been replaced with this 10K track race. The 5K distance for the Z. Smith Trophy remains.

On an overcast and warm day, 16 competitors set off on the Bury Track. These included the welcome entry of 2 guest walkers, Dan Maskell from Surrey WC and Russ Jackson from Yorkshire WC.


Ta to Ian Vaughan for the excellent photo

Adrian Edwards won the scratch race and therefore the R.Smith Trophy. He took the lead from the start and walked powerfully throughout the race, breaking the hour. There was a good battle for second and third places between Greg Smith and Peter Crahan with Greg getting the better towards the end of the race. In addition to gaining second place in the scratch race, Greg also won the handicap.

Irene Pike won the 5K race and the Z.Smith Trophy, carrying on to complete the 10K race.

10 kilometres

1 Adrian Edwards Lancashire WC M55 58.57
2 Greg Smith Lancashire WC M65 64.53
3 Peter Crahan Lancashire WC M65 65.01
4 Dan Maskell Surrey WC M70 67.52
5 Roy Gunnett Lancashire WC M70 68.17
6 Russ Jackson Yorkshire WC M70 68.35
7 Sailash Shah Lancashire WC M50 68.35
8 Joe Hardy Lancashire WC M70 68.58
9 Phil McCullagh Lancashire WC M60 69.32
10 Irene Pike Lady Lancashire WC W65 69.32
11 John Crahan Lancashire WC M65 73.25

5 Kilometres
1 Irene Pike Lady Lancashire WC W65 34.15
2 Pat Evans Lady Lancashire WC W65 38.06
3 Ian Hilditch Lancashire WC M75 38.09
4 John Payn Lancashire WC M80 39.36
5 Andrea Lennon Lady Lancashire WC W75 40.27


This entry was posted in Results and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s